Business in Photography? WHAT!?

Posted on March 18, 2012

10


I’m on a mission to make photography my business of choice and my career! Who know’s if I will ever succeed? Still such a mystery to me! As I look into the business of photography, I can’t help but notice how much doing something you love to do can actually be something totally different! Also, it involves everything that most artistic people hate to deal with… BUSINESS! But no fear, I will do this and try it out and if I don’t like it, well, then I’ll quit!

So what is this whole business aspect of photography? Well, I honestly have no idea! I have been googling and reading, googling and reading, and subscribing just about anywhere I could possibly subscribe to for information. I’ve requested free guides from photoshelter.com, which contains A LOT of useful information for photographers in business, as well as tips on photography itself. I’ve also visited score.org, which is probably the best place for anyone who wants to be an entrepreneur or needs help understanding how to grow their business. Both of these sites seem to help me grasp a better understanding of what it is that I must do in order to become successful as a business. But as a photographer… well, lets just say that I will never be good enough, not that I’m a horrible photographer, but I am my own worst critic. I do believe photography isn’t perfected, rather it’s ever-changing and enhances ones own artistic abilities to another level, like super powers!

Through this blog I plan to record my journey, the ups and downs, and everything in between, that will, hopefully one day, become a successful photography business.

WARNING: this idea/plan/mission may take years

